تقرير التنمية الإنسانية العربية وأثره في أرض الواقع

"أصبحت تقارير التنمية الإنسانية العربية مخططا إستراتيجيا يضع برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي على أساسه برامجه في الدول العربية، وتسترشد به مشاريع التنمية النابعة من أولويات المنطقة وقدراتها وأهدافها".
أمة العليم السوسوة، المدير الإقليمي ـ المكتب الإقليمي للدول العربية ـ برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي

أصبحت تقارير التنمية الإنسانية العربية ركنا أساسيا من أركان النقاش الواسع حول برنامج إصلاح التنمية في المنطقة العربية. وتظهر توصيات هذه التقارير أكثر فأكثر في برامج التنمية على المستويين القطري والإقليمي. وحدد تقرير التنمية الإنسانية العربية الأول الصادر عام 2002 تحت شعار "خلق الفرص للأجيال القادمة" ثلاثة نواقص تعوق التنمية الإنسانية في المنطقة وهي:
      - نقص المعرفة
      - نقص الحريات
      - نقص حقوق المرأة


I . المعرفة

"من دون امتلاك قاعدة معرفية معاصرة قوية ومتنامية سوف يتم استيعاب الدول العربية في مجتمع المعرفة العالمي كمستهلكين سلبيين لممتلكات الدول الأخرى المعرفية والتقنية والخدماتية".
تقرير التنمية الإنسانية العربية لعام 2003

حددت سلسلة تقارير التنمية الإنسانية العربية المعرفة كركن أساسي من أركان التنمية الإنسانية: فهي وسيلة لتوسيع قدرات الناس وأداة للتغلب على الفقر البشري. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية أطلق برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي عددا من البرامج الإقليمية:

  • لتقوية دور تقنية المعلومات والاتصالات (ICTD)
  • لتعزيز ضمان جودة التعليم [http://www.arabtimss-undp.org] في المستويات الابتدائية والثانوية والجامعية، ولدعم جهود بناء القدرات الطويلة ـ الأمد في المنطقة من خلال وضع آليات إقليمية لتحقيق ذلك.

II. إدارة الحكم

"تمر إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية بعملية إصلاح. ونحن نأمل أن تساعد هذه التقارير في غرس بذور الحكم الرشيد في المنطقة من خلال إطلاق عملية مجتمعية واسعة من التفكير الخلاق والابتكار والعمل الجماعي التي تشارك فيها جميع قوى المجتمع النشطة والفعالة في البلدان العربية".
تقرير التنمية الإنسانية العربية لعام 2004

يعمل برنامج إدارة الحكم في المنطقة العربية على تعزيز أربع ركائز لممارسة الحكم الرشيد، وهي:


تتراوح نشاطات برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية من بناء القدرات وإنتاج المعرفة إلى تقديم الاستشارات والحوار حول السياسات وإقامة شراكات إستراتيجية بين المسؤولين الحكوميين ومنظمات المجتمع المدني والأكاديميين والوكالات المانحة.

استجابة لتقرير التنمية الإنسانية العربية لعام 2002، أنشأ برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية قواعد بيانات قانونية [http://www.arablegalportal.org] باللغة العربية (مصر والعراق، والقوانين المصرفية العربية) وكلف متخصصين بإجراء عدة دراسات حول قضايا تتعلق بإدارة الحكم وقام بنشرها، إلى جانب ترجمة ونشر عدد آخر من الدراسات ذات الصلة. كما أطلق البرنامج موقعه الخاص على شبكة الإنترنت [http://www.undp-pogar.org] ، الذي يوفر موارد عن إصلاح إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية.


III. تمكين المرأة

"يدعو هذا التقرير إلى تبني مبدأ الفعل أو التمييز الإيجابي موقتا لتوسيع مشاركة المرأة في جميع حقول النشاط الإنساني في كل مجتمع عربي وفقا لظروفه الخاصة".
تقرير التنمية الإنسانة العربية لعام 2005

تتضمن المبادرات الإقليمية الساعية إلى إحراز تقدم في مجال تمكين المرأة:

مركز المرأة العربية للتدريب والبحوث (كوتر) [http://www.cawtar.org] مقره تونس، وهو مؤسسة إقليمية مستقلة تدعم المساواة بين الجنسين في العالم العربي من خلال البحوث والتدريب والتشبيك والمناصرة. وفي البداية تم دعم هذا المركز كمشروع مشترك بين برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي و برنامج الخليج العربي لدعم منظمات الأمم المتحدة الإنمائية (أجفند) [http://www.agfund.org] وانضم إليهما البنك الدولي في وقت لاحق. وأصدر مركز "كوتر" تقارير "تنمية المرأة العربية" منذ العام 2001. وتتألف هذه السلسلة من تقارير دورية تتناول موضوعات معينة، وهدفها الأساسي معالجة فجوة المعرفة في مجال البحث المتعلق بالجنوسة في المنطقة العربية.

برنامج مكافحة فيروس نقص المناعة المكتسب/ الإيدز في الدول العربية (هارباس) [http://www.harpas.org] ـ مقره القاهرة، ويعمل على زيادة الوعي بهذا المرض وعلى خلق الالتزام وتكوين القيادات التي تتصدى لمكافحته على الصعيد الإقليمي. وأطلق هذا البرنامج في أيار/مايو 2006 "المنتدى الإقليمي للقيادات الدينية النسائية" في القاهرة الذي انتهى إلى "إعلان طرابلس" الذي يلزم الجماعات الدينية بالدعوة إلى إنهاء التمييز ضد هؤلاء المرضى وإلى حماية النساء والأطفال المصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة المكتسب والمتأثرين به.




أعلى الصفحة

Impact of the Arab Human Development Reports

"The Arab Human Development Reports have become a strategic blueprint for UNDP programming in the Arab States region, informing development projects that are rooted in the region's priorities, capacities, and objectives."
Amat Al Alim Alsoswa Regional Director, UNDP Regional Bureau for Arab States Read more

The Arab Human Development Report series has become a milestone in the broader debate over the development reform agenda in the Arab region, with AHDR recommendations increasingly reflected in development programming at the national and regional levels. The first Arab Human Development Report (AHDR) 2002, Creating Opportunities for Future Generations, defined three deficits impeding the human development of the Arab region:
      I. Knowledge
      II. Freedoms and
      III. Women's rights

I. KNOWLEDGE

"Without a strong and growing contemporary knowledge base of their own, Arab countries will be absorbed into the international knowledge society as passive consumers of other countries' proprietary knowledge, technology and services."
Arab Human Development Report 2003

The AHDR series identified knowledge as a cornerstone of human development: a means of expanding people's capabilities and a tool for overcoming human poverty.

Towards this goal, UNDP has launched a number of regional programmes:

  • to promote information and communication technology for development (ICTD http://www.ictdar.org),
  • to enhance educational quality assurance [http://www.arabtimss-undp.org ] at the primary, secondary and higher education levels, and to support longer-term capacity building in the region through the establishment of regional mechanisms.

II. GOVERNANCE

"Governance in Arab countries is undergoing a process of reform. We hope that these Reports will help to plant the seeds of good governance in the region by inspiring a society-wide process of creative thinking, innovation and collective work in which all dynamic societal forces in Arab countries will take part."
Arab Human Development Report 2004

The Programme on Governance in the Arab Region (POGAR) works to advance four pillars of good governance practice:
     (1) Rule of Law; [http://www.arab-niaba.org, http://www.arabruleoflaw.org ]
     (2) Transparency and Accountability;
     (3) Participation; and [gender and citizenship, http://www.arabparliaments.org/ ]
     (4) Human Rights. [http://www.arabhumanrights.org/en/]

POGAR's activities range from capacity building and knowledge generation to policy advice and dialogue, creating strategic partnerships among government officials, civil society organizations, academics and donor agencies.

In response to AHDR 2002, POGAR constructed comprehensive legal databases [http://www.arablegalportal.org] in Arabic (Egypt, Iraq, Arab banking laws); translated, commissioned and published several studies on governance-related issues; and launched its own website (http://www.undp-pogar.org), which provides resources on governance reform in Arab countries.

III. WOMEN'S EMPOWERMENT

"This Report calls for the temporary adoption of the principle of affirmative action or positive discrimination in expanding the participation of women to all fields of human activity in every Arab society according to the particular circumstances of each."
Arab Human Development Report (2005)

The Regional initiatives to advance women's empowerment include:

Center for Arab Women Training and Research (CAWTAR http://www.cawtar.org) - Based in Tunis, CAWTAR is an independent regional institution that promotes gender equality in the Arab World through research, training, networking and advocacy. Originally supported as a joint project of UNDP, Arab Gulf Programme for United Nations Development Organizations (AGFUND http://www.agfund.org ), and later the World Bank, CAWTAR has produced Arab Women Development Reports (AWDRs) since 2001. The AWDRs are a series of thematic periodical reports whose primary objective is to address the knowledge gap in gender-related research in the Arab region.

HIV/AIDS Regional Programme in the Arab States (HARPAS http://www.harpas.org ) - Based in Cairo, HARPAS works to heighten awareness and to build commitment and leadership in the regional response to HIV/AIDS. In May 2006, HARPAS launched a Regional Women Religious Leaders Forum in Cairo, Egypt that culminated in the Tripoli Declaration. The Declaration commits religious communities to advocate for an end to discrimination, and to protect women and children infected, and affected, by the HIV virus.



Back to top